How to Undo a sent email on Gmail ?

“The only thing that is denied even to God is the power to undo the past”, but certainly not to Gmail users anymore. If you ask me why? Well the answer to this question is a question – “Did you know you can undo a sent e-mail in Gmail”?

Yes, you heard it right guys. Sometimes after sending an e-mail, you immediately realize it was a mistake. You hit your forehead and pray that the recipient should confuse it for a spam or just think that you’re off your mind. You can rush to close the browser or unplug the Internet but Gmail almost always wins that race. You wish you could go back 10 seconds and avoid sending that email.

And now you can do just that. Turn on Undo Send in Gmail Labs under Settings, and you’ll see a new “Undo” link on every sent mail confirmation. Click “Undo,” and Gmail will  grab the message before it’s sent and take you right back to compose.

Well here is a step-by-step tutorial explaining you how to get it done:

1> Log in to your Gmail account. Currently, Gmail’s mobile interface does not allow you to access settings, so you will need to log in from a computer to enable this feature.

2> Find the Settings link in the upper right corner. It will be just next to your Gmail address in bold text to the left. Click on it.

3> Locate the Labs tab on the upper right of your window and click on it.

4> You’ll be presented with a list of features Google is testing in Gmail. Scroll to the near bottom of the page where you will find the Undo Send. To the right of the brief information box are two bubbles. Check the Enable radio-button, and then Save Changes at the very bottom. Refer the Fig. below.

5> In this step, you can customize the time delay. The default timing for delaying the sending of an email is 10 seconds.  Click on Settings again and scroll down until you find the Undo Send time settings as in image below. If you want to change this time, you can shift it to 5, 20, or 30 seconds.

6> Write and send your e-mail. Now that Undo Send is enabled, it works each time you send a new e-mail. Having the Undo Send feature turned on delays your email for up to 30 seconds.

7> Now you have either 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds to undo your sent e-mail, depending on what you selected under Settings. As soon as you hit Send button, there will be a yellow message box alerting you that your message has been sent, and giving you the option to click Undo or “View Message”. Click Undo to cancel the sending of the email.

ALso note that you can hit “Z” on your keyboard, the Gmail shortcut for undo. Just don’t navigate away from or close this page, because once you do, you’ll lose the opportunity to undo your sent message forever.

8> Sending will be  Undone – You’ll immediately be taken back to the e-mail composition page, and your e-mail will be in draft form, unsent and ready for further editing — or even deletion.



GET MORE STORIES LIKE THIS IN YOUR INBOX

What's Your Thoughts On This?